Book Review – “Bonnie” by Iris Johansen (Eve Duncan Series) – SPOILER ALERT

   Title:  Bonnie (Eve Duncan Series)

Author:  Iris Johansen

ISBN:  9780312651220

Publisher:  St. Martin’s Press

Synopsis (from

The truth has eluded her for years…Now, is she ready to face it? The #1 New York Times bestselling author Iris Johansen has written an explosive conclusion to the trilogy that will finally lay to rest the questions that have haunted her fans for a decade

When Eve Duncan gave birth to her daughter, she experienced a love she never knew existed. Nothing would stand in the way of giving Bonnie a wonderful life—until the unthinkable happened and the seven-year-old vanished into thin air. Eve found herself in the throes of a nightmare from which there was no escape. But a new Eve emerged: a woman who would use her remarkable talent as a forensic sculptor to help others find closure in the face of tragedy. Now, with the help of her beloved Joe Quinn and CIA Agent Catherine Ling, Eve has come closer than ever to the truth. But the deeper she digs, the more she realizes that Bonnie’s father is a key player in solving this monstrous puzzle. And that Bonnie’s disappearance was not as random as everyone had always believed…

My thoughts:  Bonnie is the 3rd and final book of a trilogy that Iris Johansen put into her Eve Duncan series (Eve, Quinn, Bonnie).  If you are a follower of this series, you probably are like me in wanting desperately to find out what happened to Eve’s daughter Bonnie and where she is.  Well this book answers that question – FINALLY!  Unfortunately, for me at least, all the build up in this Bonnie storyline over the last 13 books sort of did a crash and burn for me in this book.  It wasn’t all that exciting, pulse-pounding, or interesting.  I can’t decide whether it was the writing in this trilogy or the shear fact that the author drew it out so long, but it wasn’t the closure I wanted in the storyline.  I guess a little part of me wishes that the story would have moved in the direction of Bonnie being found alive and Eve and her trying to rebuild a relationship!

This book fell a little flat and lost a bit of steam for me.  Given how much I really loved the beginning of the series, I was shocked that I found myself wanting to pick something else up to read.   In this trilogy particularly I found Eve Duncan to be a bit too whiny and needy for my taste.  In the beginning and middle of the series, when she was working on a case I always pictured her a strong, tough, professional woman and now she is whiny.  Time to bring the old Eve back and get her working on some cases again Iris!!

One very positive thing about this book is that it continues to have the new character Catherine Ling in it.  I am loving this character and am very happy to see that Johansen has started a series featuring Catherine!  First book in Catherine Ling series, “What Doesn’t Kill You” is out and I can’t wait to dig in.

I look forward to seeing where Johansen takes this series now that the Bonnie mystery is solved!  More cases, more facial reconstruction, and less whining I hope.

And remember,

Books Are Life,


Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Detective/Police, Fiction, Iris Johansen, Mystery, Thriller

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s