Book Review – “The Last Page” by Lacy Camey

Title:  The Last Page

Author:  Lacy Camey

Synopsis (from Amazon.com):  Norah Johnson is at a crossroads and is in desperate need to heal after a highly
publicized breakup from her major league baseball player boyfriend.

To
escape, she moves to her summer home in The Hamptons with her sister and best
friend where she journals, attends therapy and works on her pending clothing
line all the while wondering how fast can a heart really heal. Well, it sure
helps when part of the healing process involves living in a fabulous summer home
on the beach with your sister and absolute BFF. The best psychologist since Good
Will Hunting always helps. And then there’s the hottie, much older version of
Taylor Lautner look-alike who finds your lost journal, reads it and falls madly
in love with you, “the you on paper”, and is set on finding you and making you
fall in love with him.

Okay, so this can all really help! But is Norah
ready to love again?

My thoughts:  This was another one of my freebie finds on Amazon for my ipad.  I’m not quite sure what I want to say about this book.  I don’t want to slam it as it wasn’t horrible, but it certainly isn’t going to go down as one  is a of the best books I have ever read.  Put it this way, it isn’t going to win any literary prizes anytime soon.

It is a charming, fun, light romance.  It was good for the purpose for which I used it – namely, to read in the gym while on the machines.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be reading some heavy, make you think, drama while I’m trying to distract myself from pouring sweat on the elliptical!

The main characters are fun, charming, if not a bit uppity and pretentious as well.  I mean come on, they are going to spend their summer at one of their parent’s house in th Hamptons for the summer because they have nothing else to do!  One of the characters is trying to keep the secret that her father is probably running for President.  Really?

I do have to say the writing was a bit juvenile, if you will.  I found it rather disjointed and choppy.  I was bothered by the fact that stories didn’t play out a bit more.  It felt a bit rushed and all of a sudden things were resolved.

A good, fast, fun beach read perhaps, or a read for when you are looking for a no-brainer romance.  I wouldn’t pay much for this book if you find it!

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Chick Lit, Fiction

Leave a Reply

