Back from Paradise – Time for More Book Reviews – “A Cookie Before Dying” by Virginia Lowell (Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery #2)

Hi to all of my blog readers!  Well my blog has been silent since my trip to Hawaii at the end of August.  I spent 10 days on the Northshore of Oahu at a Drum Circle Facilitation workshop that was in a word – incredible!  I then spent about 3 days relaxing in the Waikiki area, again – beautiful, relaxing, incredible!  I was able to finish a couple of books of my trip and now it is time to get back to reality and back to my blog/book reviews!  I hope you enjoy a couple of pictures of my Polynesian Paradise!

 

    Title:  A Cookie Before Dying (Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery #2)

Author:  Virginia Lowell

ISBN:  9780423245019

Publisher:  Penguin Group

 

Synopsis (from BN.com):  On a stormy night, Olivia Greyson and her Yorkie discover the body of a man stabbed to death-which looks suspiciously like the intruder seen fleeing the local health food store The Vegetable Plate. Charlene Critch, owner of The Vegetable Plate, has a grudge against Olivia’s cookie cutter shop, but could Charlene be hiding a secret serious enough to kill for?

 

My thoughts:  This is the second installment of Virginia Lowell’s Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery Series.  I have to admit that I had a rather difficult time getting through this book.  I am not sure exactly why as I love my cozies and usually fly through them.  Perhaps it was simply because I got distracted by other things going on and ended up taking a long time to read this book.  In fact, I ended up putting this book down for awhile, reading other things and then getting back to it – which I never do.  Anyway, I felt the storyline dragged quite a bit and I don’t quite really connect to the characters as well as I do in some of my other favorite cozy mystery series.  This book was alright, but certainly nothing special.  I will give her 3rd book in the series which just came out a try and see if it was just me.  Wish I had better things to say, but these things happen 🙂

 

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

Leave a Reply

