Book Review – Plague (A Medical Thriller) by Victor Methos

plagueTitle:  Plague

Author:  Victor Methos

Availble: Kindle ebook only, amazon.com, $2.99

 

 

Synopsis (from amazon.com):

THE DEADLIEST DISEASE IN HISTORY . . .

A lethal pathogen appears on the
Hawaiian island of Oahu. Dr. Samantha Bower of the Centers for Disease Control
is handed the case and assigned to investigate its containment and origins.

A MYSTERIOUS FIGURE WHO ISN’T WHAT HE APPEARS TO BE . . .

Dr.
Bower finds a microorganism unlike any she has run across in her lifetime. The
symptomology points her to the most destructive disease in human history. One
man has offered her help. A man with insight into the disease who reveals
nothing about himself or his past.

THE WORLD ON THE EDGE OF A CLIFF . .

Dr. Bower discovers that there are forces at work she can’t
understand. All applying pressure to use the chaos of an epidemic to their
advantage. But there is one thing she is certain of: humanity may soon be an
endangered species . . .

 

My thoughts:  This was one of my infamous free Kindle books that I frequently download on my iPad to read during workouts!  As an aside, I am seriously not a fan of working out, so I find that reading almost anything is better than constantly looking at the clock 🙂

I really do love a good medical thriller (which makes me think, where did all the great medical thrillers go?), so I embarked on this book during hours on the treadmill and elliptical.

This book actually started out pretty darn good.  I enjoyed the characters, espcially the strong female lead character.  I enjoyed the medical story and getting to know the characters better.  However, the ending of the book was horrible in my opinion.  It not only fell completely flat for me, it just abruptly stopped – to the point where I actually turned back a bit to see if I had accidentally skipped a part.  To me, it just ended and I was like, “Where is the ending?  That is it!”

Put it this way, it was an alright book to be read during workouts and I got it for FREE!  I am not sure I would even pay the $2.99 for it to be honest.  I ahve definitely read better, more compelling, and more dramatic medical thrillers in my life!

A so-so read with a flat ending!

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Kindle deals, Medical Drama

Leave a Reply

