Book Review – “Before I Go To Sleep” by S. J. Watson

beforeigotosleep  Title:  Before I Go To Sleep

Author:  S. J. Watson

Publisher:  Harper Collins

Synopsis (from bn.com):   “As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning.

Thinking I’m still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me….”

Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love—all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may be telling you only half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

 

My thoughts:  This is an absolutely FANTASTIC, AMAZING read!  Don’t walk, but run out to your nearest Barnes & Noble, used book store, library, or favorite internet retailer, pick up a copy, and start reading!  If my schedule would have allowed, I would have definitely read this book in one sitting.

Imagine waking up everyday with absolutely no recollection of anything of your life, not having a clue who you are, not knowing who is next to you in the bed, and not remembering anything about your life.  This is Christine’s life . . .

This is not only an intriguing, fast-paced, “turn the page faster I need to know what is going to happen” type of mystery, I found that it also had a great terrifying, psychological edge to it  as well that really made me think and question things . . . creepy, and I loved it!   What are we without our memories?  Do our memories make us who we are?  Without memories who do we trust?  What is reality?

Just when I felt like I had a handle on things in this book . . . something else would happen that would make me question things . . . and question things again . . .

It was one of those books where I got so into Christine, the main character, that as I read further I felt like I was her and facing what she was facing, . . . and that perhaps I was the one who was a bit unstable . . . did I mention creepy!

An immensely great first novel by S. J. Watson!  I can only hope this author give us more and more.

Don’t pick it up if you only have a couple minutes to read because I can guarantee you won’t want to put it down!  Amazing!

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Fiction, Mystery, New Releases

2 responses to “Book Review – “Before I Go To Sleep” by S. J. Watson

  1. I started this book on a long haul flight – only time in my life I didn’t want the flight to end because I was so engrossed!

    I hear it’s being made into a movie.

Leave a Reply

