Book Review – “The Diva Haunts the House” by Krista Davis

divahauntsthehouse  Title:  The Diva Haunts the House

Author:  Krista Davis

Series:  Domestic Diva Mystery #5

Publisher:  Penguin

 

Synopsis (from bn.com):

Domestic diva Sophie Winston is getting into the Halloween spirit- her decorations for a community haunted house are so good, it’s scary. Not to be outdone, rival domestic diva Natasha is throwing a spooktacular Halloween party at her house. But when Sophie arrives, she discovers one of Natasha’s guests dead in a Halloween display, and a pale, fanged partygoer fleeing the scene.

Could the killer be a real vampire-the same one rumored to have lived in Sophie’s haunted house back when it was a boardinghouse? Good thing a domestic diva never runs out of garlic.

 

My thoughts:  Well “The Diva Haunts the House” brings us to the 5th installment in the Dometic Diva Mystery series.  Overall, I like this book in the series, but it wasn’t my favorite.  I just can’t point to exactly what in this series makes it not as engaging to me as other cozy mystery stories.  I just can’t put my finger on it.  I have a love/hate relationship with this series – love one, the next is only ok, love the next one, then the next one falls flat.

This is one that fell a bit flat for me.  It just seemed a bit slow and I found myself dragging it out – maybe because it was a story set at Halloween and I was trying to read it as spring is struggling to come out in the Chicago area 🙂   The characters are good, yet not great.  The plot is good, yet not great.  I think you get where I am going with this.   I wish the author would focus more on the caddy, yet funny relationship between Sophie and Natasha.  It is still there, but in this book and a couple of others Natasha seems to really have taken a back seat, and let’s be real she is the character we all love to hate!

Overall, an ok read.  I have one book left to finish up this series before a new one come out . . . but I think it is time for me to take a break from the Diva for a while!

 

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

Leave a Reply

