Book Review: “Murder for Choir” by Joelle Charbonneau (Glee Club Mystery #1)

murderforchoir  Title:  Murder for Choir

Author:  Joelle Charbonneau

Series:  Glee Club Mystery #1

Publisher:  Penguin

 

Synopsis (from bn.com):  Even as a struggling opera singer, Paige Marshall has never seen anything like the cutthroat competition of the Prospect Glen High School show choir. Coaching these championship-hungry students may be her toughest gig yet…

Especially when her best young male singer is suspected of killing the arrogant coach of Prospect Glen’s fiercest rival. To clear his name, Paige will have to sort through a chorus of suspects, and go note-for-note with a killer who wants her out of the spotlight for good.

 

My thoughts:  What a delightful new cozy series this is!  I must say I really, really enjoyed this book!  Before I go into more specifics about why, I must admit I was a bit leary about picking up this cozy mystery as I was truly afraid it was going to be “over the top, TV show Glee” cheesy for me!  It in fact was not.  I picked it up because it is one if not the only cozy series I know that has to do with music or musicians.  As a musician myself, I thought it would be right up my alley.  Thankfully, I was right!

The characters are a true delight.  The main character, Paige, is fun, charming, witty, and a little snarky at times – which I love.  I really enjoyed the humor thrown into the book, great addition!   The author is from the greater Chicago area and given that I currently live in that area, it was very fun for me to recognize where she was going with some of the places in the book.

After my original fear of the book being too much about a high school glee club and show choir, I must admit that I found myself actually wanting a little bit more of the actual show choir and high school teenage angst in the book.  It really doesn’t take a central role in the book at all and the musician in me wants more of the music!!!!  Perhaps in the next book in the series . . . “End Me a Tenor”, which I just happened to pick up from the store tonight!  Hmmm, funny how that happens!

A great addition to the cozy mystery world!

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery

Leave a Reply

