Book Review – “Obsession” by Debra Webb (Faces of Evil Series)

obsession  Title:  Obsession

Author:  Debra Webb

Series:  Faces of Evil

Publisher:  Hachette Book Group

 

Synopsis (from bn.com):  She thought she’d left the murders-and his obsession-behind . . .

Special Agent Jess Harris has spent more than a decade studying the many faces of evil. In her determination to stop a serial killer, she broke the rules, and it cost her everything. With her career in need of resuscitation and her love life dead and buried, Jess jumps at a chance to advise on a case that has the top detectives of Birmingham, Alabama, stumped. But the case forces her to confront all the reasons she put her hometown-and her first love-in her rearview mirror.

Four young women have gone missing, and Police Chief Dan Burnett will do anything to find them before it’s too late-even if it means asking for help from the woman who has spent a decade avoiding him. Jess agrees to lend a hand and welcomes the diversion of a new case, a new life to save to make up for the victims she’s lost. But then the unthinkable happens: the crazed serial killer from her past follows Jess to Birmingham. The situation is becoming increasingly desperate-and time is swiftly running out . . .

 

My thoughts:  So after work on Friday night I was browsing at my local Barnes & Noble (which ok, like most book lovers, I admit I do frequently) and while looking for some new cozy mysteries on my favorite spinner display I find “Obsession” by Debra Webb.  Right next to it are #2 and #3 in the series as well.  Hmmmm, imagine my surprise when the front cover says “specially priced” each at $3.99.  Yup, you guessed it I picked up all three and I am so glad that I did!

What a great series!  I can’t believe I have never heard of it before.  I was a bit leery when I got home and realized that it was classified as a romatic thriller as I feared a cheesy romance, but no fears it is definitely a great psychological thriller featuring disgraced FBI profiler Jess Harris and her old beau and police chief Dan Burnett.  The characters are good, the serial killer storyline is great, and overall incredibly fast reads.

I started the second book in the series and literally couldn’t put it down.

If you like mystery/thrillers pick up this series.  They would be great plane reads and also great beach reads for upcoming summer vacations.

And did I mention the price is certainly right.  The paperbacks are about $3.99, ebooks about $2.99.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Detective/Police, Mystery

Leave a Reply

