Book Review – “End Me a Tenor” by Joelle Charbonneau (Glee Club Mystery #2)

endmeatenor   Title:  End Me a Tenor

Author:  Joelle Charbonneau

Series:  A Glee Club Mystery #2

ISBN:  9780425252161

 

Synopsis (from bn.com):  Joelle Charbonneau’s “delightfully witty”* Glee Club Mysteries returns for an encore performance. It’s the holiday season, and high school show choir coach Paige Marshall may be on the verge of her first big break as an opera singer. But she probably shouldn’t quit her day job just yet . . . A part to kill for Singing in a production of the Messiah and rehearsing her show choir for a holiday concert may be more than Paige can Handel. Not only does she have to contend with the overblown ego of world-renowned tenor David Richard, she now has to quickly revamp the show choir’s number, since not one but two other high schools are performing the same song for the quickly approaching competition season. The tempestuous tenor may have a voice to die for, but when he drops dead during rehearsal after drinking poisoned water, Paige has to compose herself and once again solo as a sleuth to find a killer who’s no choirboy . . .

 

My thoughts:  I love this series!  As I mentioned in my review of the first book in this series, “Murder For Choir”, I was fearful that the book was going to be way too much glee club show choir, teenage angst for me and therefore a little cheesy, but I don’t find this at all.

As a musician myself, I am very happy to find a cozy mystery series that is focused on music in some way.  Love it!  Living in the Chicago area myself, I also find these books that little extra special as I recognize many of the places she is describing, Buffalo Grove – live there myself, Evanston – work there myself!  Just plain fun.

I think this series is a delight to read!  The characters are fun, humorous, witty, and you always definitely want to know more about them and what they will get themselves into in the next book!

I highly suggest this series for a nice, light cozy read, perhaps a beach read or a great vacation book!

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

Leave a Reply

