Book Review – Looming Murder (A Weaving Mystery #1) by Carol Ann Martin

loomingmurder  Title:  Looming Murder

Author:  Carol Ann Martin

Series:  A Weaving Mystery #1

Synopsis (from bn.com):  Della Wright has come to peaceful and picturesque Briar Hollow, at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, to realize her lifelong dream of owning a weaving studio. To promote her new business, Dream Weavers, Della is offering weaving workshops for all levels of ability. In her first class, she meets half a dozen of the town’s colorful characters, who seem as eager to gossip as to learn how to work a loom.

But when a shady local businessman is found murdered, Briar Hollow suddenly appears a lot less idyllic. And when one of her weaving students is suspected of the crime, Della can’t help getting entangled in the investigation—with some help from her criminologist friend, Matthew. But can she weave together clues as well as she weaves together yarn—and stop a killer from striking again?

 

My thoughts:  Anyone who ever reads this blog knows that I enjoy my cozy mystery series and am a sucker for the words “First in a New Series” on the front cover.  This debut novel in the Weaving Series did not disappoint.  I must admit that I was a bit leery when my mom recommended this one to me as I really have no knowledge of or interest in weaving and looms, but this certainly didn’t get in the way of truly enjoying this book.

I always like my cozy series to have a strong, empowered female lead character.  Della Wright is just that person.  She leaves her big corporate career in the city to pursue her lifelong dream of opening a weaving studio.  I must also admit that every time I read a cozy where the character has left their stressful, high tech job to open up their dream shop be it a café, a bakery, a cupcake bakery, soup shop, arts and crafts shop, or whatever it may be – I enter my little dream land of doing the same thing.  My latest dream is to open up a studio of my handmade cards somewhere in Hawaii and of course it will include a studio for me to work in with a huge window overlooking the ocean.  Ok, back to the review 🙂

I love the characters in this new series.  Charming, engaging, entertaining, and full of promise.  The way this book is written and the way it ends up truly leaves me wanting more.  I am very excited to see where this series goes.

Head on out and get your hands on this great new cozy series.  Definitely worth the read.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction, Mystery

Leave a Reply

