Book Review – Mayhem at the Orient Express (League of Literary Ladies #1) by Kylie Logan

mayhemattheorientexpress  Title:  Mayhem at the Orient Express

Author:  Kylie Logan (also author of the Button Box Mystery Series)

Series:  A League of Literary Ladies #1

Synopsis (from bn.com):

Most folks aren’t forced by court order to attend a library-book discussion group, but that’s just what happens to B and B proprietor and ex-Manhattanite Bea Cartwright, hippy cat lover Chandra Morrisey, and winery owner Kate Wilder after a small-town magistrate has had enough of their squabbling. South Bass, an island on Lake Erie, is home to an idyllic summer resort, but these three ladies keep disturbing the peace.

The initial book choice is Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express, and that sets their mouths to watering. The Orient Express is the island’s newest Chinese restaurant. They might not agree about much, but the ladies all love the orange chicken on the menu. But their meal is spoiled when the restaurant’s owner, Peter Chan, has the bad fortune of getting murdered. Now, with Christie as their inspiration, the League of Literary Ladies has a real mystery to solve…if they can somehow catch a killer without killing each other first.

 

My thoughts:  I had a Cozypalooza on my recent couple of weeks in Oahu, Hawaii and this was one that made the list.  I am so glad that it did.  I absolutely love my cozy mysteries and I love beginning new cozy series – so when I see on the front cover “First in a new series” I just have to buy it.

This is a wonderful, charming new cozy mystery series by Kylie Logan, the author of the Button Box Mystery Series as well.  I am very hopeful that there will be many in this series as it truly is a fun series.

I absolutely love the premise on which The League of Literary Ladies is started – namely, Bea, Chandra, and Kate being court ordered by a judge to attend a book discussion group because of their recent fighting and squabbles with each other.  What a creative premise for a series!

The characters are fun, engaging, charming, and most importantly funny which I love!  I love having laugh out loud moments during my reading, this series delivers.

As you see the characters becoming friends in this first book and creating the League of Literary Ladies, I could just picture where this series could go.  t this

If you love a great cozy mystery with a literary theme do yourself a favor and start this series.  I very much look forward to seeing what adventures they find themselves in next.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction, Mystery

One response to “Book Review – Mayhem at the Orient Express (League of Literary Ladies #1) by Kylie Logan

  1. Pingback: Book Review & Giveaway: “A Tale of Two Biddies” by Kylie Logan (League of Literay Ladies #2) | Books Are Life - Vita Libri

Leave a comment