Book Review “Right and Left Grand” by Rosalee Richland

great_escape_tour_banner_large_RIGHT_AND_LEFT_GRAND640

I received this book and am writing this review for the Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours!  Check them out at www.escapewithdollycas.com!!

RLG_eBook_cover_10142012_smashwords_1500

Title:  Right and Left Grand

Author:  Rosalee Richland

Series:  Darla King Novel

Synopsis (from bn.com): In this first Darla King novel, Darla returns to square dancing in midlife following tragedies in both her personal and professional lives. She never dreamed that her midlife career change to square dance caller would place her in a position to assist law enforcement officials in solving crimes. But when an unconscious stranger turns up on the ranch of one of her dance club members, her specialized knowledge may hold the key to the identity of his assailants. Darla, along with her close friends from the Clearton Squares Dance Club, ends up in the thick of things-and in danger.

My thoughts:  I read many, many cozy mysteries and if you would have told me that I would read one with a square dancing theme, I would not have believed you!  Yet that is exactly what Rosalee Richland brings us with Right and Left Grand.  This is the first book in the Darla King series.

I must say that I really enjoyed this book even though I have no interest in square dancing (the last time I remember square dancing was in high school 🙂

I found the characters – Darla and her friends, really great.  They were charming, entertaining, and most importantly for a reader . . . I want to know more about them.  I feel the author did a really nice job of beginning to tell the character’s stories while leaving the reader wanting to know more in what I hope is the next book in the series.  What is Darla’s mystery past?  What is up with the relationship with Darla and Doug?  What is the full story with Darla’s husbands death and her daughter Heather?  All questions I hope to know more about!!!

I did find that some of the story felt a bit formulaic for me . . . Darla packs up her gear to go call a square dance, calls the square dance, her friends help her pack up, they go get coffee or dinner to discuss the “case”, and everyone goes home.  It felt a little repetitive for me at times and I just wish there would have been a little less of that and little more development of the story and the murder mystery.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book!  I learned a lot and I mean a lot about square dancing (I had no idea)!  I look forward to reading future books in the series.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

2 responses to “Book Review “Right and Left Grand” by Rosalee Richland

  1. Cyndi

    Heather, thank you for hosting Right and Left Grand! and for the kind words – square dance clubs are everywhere!

    Cyndi (aka Rosalee Richland)

  2. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Right and Left Grand by Rosalee Richland - The Self-Taught Cook

Leave a Reply

