Book Review and Giveaway – “Designed to Death” by Christina Freeburn (Faith Hunter Scrap This Mystery #2)

great_escape_tour_banner_DESIGNED_TO_DEATH_large448

DesignedToDeath_COVER_2   Title:  Designed to Death

Author:  Christina Freeburn

Series:  A Faith Hunter Scrap This Mystery #2

Publisher:  Henery Press

Synopsis (from bn.com):

Faith Hunter planned the perfect event at her grandmother’s shop, Scrap This, featuring local scrapbooker and Life Artist Diva, Belinda Watson. But the extravaganza goes up in a cloud of glitter when Belinda and her cousin, Darlene, brawl over scraplifted designs. Faith attempts to break it up, but only makes things worse. Then when Belinda turns up dead behind the Scrap This store, Faith’s involvement goes viral.

As accusations against her turn vicious, Faith sets out to prove her nemesis, Darlene, committed the crime, only to realize they are both innocent. Now they must team up or the murderer’s plan will come together seamlessly with the frenemies sharing a jail cell-or worse, a funeral.

Part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you’ll probably like them all! DESIGNED TO DEATH is the second book in the Faith Hunter Scrap This mystery series. Be sure to check out the first crafty mystery, CROPPED TO DEATH. Bonus: includes scrapbooking tips.

My thoughts:

Can we say YAY!! for another scrapbooking/papercrafting cozy mystery series!  Some of the other scrapbook/papercraft mystery series that I follow have just lost their edge to me so I am very excited to have found this series!  Wooooo!

I really enjoyed this book.  Now I am the type who hates to read their series out of order, so in the middle of reading this book I didn’t want to miss anything from the first book in the series – Cropped to Death – so I quick downloaded it to my iPad (Kindle app $0.99, hello fantastic deal)!  So I read  both books simultaneously, the first one while I was working out on the elliptical and the second one the rest of the time!

I find this a charming, engaging series.  The characters are fun, energetic and I want to know more about them.

This may sound strange, but another thing I really love about this series is that much of the action of the story actually takes place in the scrapbook store, Scrap This!  I have found in some of my other cozy series as they go along that the characters are almost never in the location that made the book a cozy to begin with.  If I am reading a cozy mystery I want to be in the location, in this case the scrapbook store, and get a vivid picture in my mind of what that place is like . . . LOVE!  This is the exact reason I read cozies so I can dream about that place and what I think it looks like.  Call me strange, but . . .

As a papercrafter/cardmaker myself, I really got a kick out of reading about all of the supplies that I myself use . . . papers, Copic markers, layouts, YAY!

I look forward to reading more in this series .. . after all I want to see what Faith gets into next!!!

Since this book is about scrapbooking/papercrafting, I thought it would be fun to include a picture of my own little card studio as I like to refer to it . . . ok, its my dining room, but it is my creative space.  And yes I can see why Faith’s space is always a mess, I’m right there with her!

cardstudio

Go out and get this book, you will not be sorry!

Giveaway

The author has graciously agreed to give away one copy of the book to a number of blogs.  The winner gets their choice of book format – Kindle, Nook, or print.  To enter the giveaway, please simply comment on this post with your email address and book format choice (following my blog is always nice too :), but certainly not required).  I will randomly select the winner on September 20.  I will contact the winner by email to obtain their address which I will then pass along to the tour host to get you your book.

Happy reading!

 

tourhost

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

12 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Giveaways

12 responses to “Book Review and Giveaway – “Designed to Death” by Christina Freeburn (Faith Hunter Scrap This Mystery #2)

  1. Thank you for being part of this tour.

  2. I have just started reading this book and it is wonderful, can’t wait to finish it! Loved the fight scene so much.

  3. Martha Franks

    Would really like to red this book!

  4. Darlene Peterson

    I love cozy mysteries, and I, too, am a papercrafter. — I liked the idea of a scrapbook shop named Scrap This and a nemisis named Darlene, my name. I enjoyed your review and do follow your blog. I would love to read this book as a print copy.
    6186pep@msn.com

  5. Linda R

    I agree another scrap booking mystery series, first, I’m ordering #1 since I managed to miss it.
    Print please!

    Tennisace50(@)yahho(dot)com

  6. Barbara Thompson

    I’ve been following the tour and seeing the great reviews. Would love to win this book. Looking forward to reading it. I believe this book is fantastic. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway. Please enter my name in the giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

  7. Michelle Fidler

    Sounds like the type of book that I’d enjoy. I do love cozies and the crafting element. I’d take a print book.

    catbooks72(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. Pingback: Book Review – “Cropped to Death” by Christina Freeburn (Faith Hunter Scrap This #1) | Books Are Life - Vita Libri

  9. carolee888

    I love cozies and scrapbookies. I love print books the best. I loved going to visit my grandmother. She had a shop too but instead of scrapbooks, she sold her tatting, lace and crafts that she made. It was so much fun looking at all of them.

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

Leave a Reply

