Book Review and GIVEAWAY “Chili Con Carnage” (Chili Cook-off Mystery #1) by Kylie Logan (

great_escape_tour_banner_large_chili_con_carage448

 

ChiliConCarnage  Title:  Chili con Carnage

Author:  Kylie Logan

Series:  Chili Cook-off Mystery

Publisher:  Berkley Prime Crime

 

Synopis (from bn.com):

Romance is supposed to be the spice of life. But Maxie Pierce is so done with bad relationships—well, almost. She just has to get rid of the latest loser, Roberto. Besides, she has more important things to worry about. Her daddy, Texas Jack Pierce, king of the chili cook-off circuit, has been missing for nearly six weeks now. In his place, she must team up with her irritating half sister, Sylvia, to promote the family business at the Taos Chili Showdown, to be judged by celebrity chef Carter Donnelly.

But when Maxie discovers Roberto’s body in the chef’s trailer—only hours after publicly breaking up with him while wearing a giant red chili pepper costume—she suddenly finds she’s the one in the spotlight as the police pepper her with questions. Now this Chili Chick needs to kick up the search to catch the real killer and get back to finding her father

 

My thoughts:  Anyone that has ever looked at this blog knows that I love my mysteries and I love my cozy mysteries even more.  When the opportunity came up to be a part of a blog tour on a new cozy in a new series by the author of cozy series I had read before, I jumped at the chance.

This is the first book in the new Chili Cook-off Mystery series by Kylie Logan, author of the Button Box Mysteries and The League of Literary Ladies series.  I have read books in both of these series and highly recommend, particularly the first book in The League of Literary Ladies series which I was reading on a plane and literally snickering out loud.

Ok, back to Chili con Carnage.  I really enjoyed this cozy mystery.  I liked the main characters, Maxie and her half-sister Sylvia – after all who doesn’t love a little conflict in a sibling relationship.  I found the supporting characters to also add a great deal to the book.  I loved that there was a humor added in – I love laughing during my reading ( I mean picturing Maxie running around in a chili costume, hilarious)!

Anyone who has ever peeked at this blog also knows that I like my cozy mystery series to have a strong female lead character – Maxie fits the bill indeed!

Being from Wisconsin and now living in Illinois I’m not at all familiar with the chili cook-off scene other than what I have seen on the Food Network.  I think if I would be more familiar with the scene (as those who live in the Southwest probably are), I would have gotten a better picture in my head of the whole scenario.

I strongly recommend this new series (after all what cozy mystery reader doesn’t love the seeing the words “First in a New Series” when we are shopping!)

I look forward to reading more in this series . . . and from me, Kylie please keep writing the League of Literary Ladies Mysteries – HILARIOUS!!

Giveaway

The author has graciously offered to give away one print copy of the book to each hosting blog.  To enter this giveaway simply leave a comment and your email on this post and you will be entered.  I will randomly select the winner on September 28.  I will then contact the winner via email to get their mailing address and the book will be on its way from the tour host.

And remember,

Books are Life,

Heather

17 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Giveaways

17 responses to “Book Review and GIVEAWAY “Chili Con Carnage” (Chili Cook-off Mystery #1) by Kylie Logan (

  1. Thank you for being part of this tour!!

  2. It sounds like a very fun series! Thanks for the chance to win!

  3. Linda Kleback

    Looking forward to this one! lkleback@hotmail.com

  4. This book sounds great. I love laugh out loud mysteries and chili!

    cozyupwithkathy at gmail dot com

  5. Linda K

    Very colorful cover – looking forward to reading it. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity.

  6. Ah, chili. It warms the heart (and stomach).
    libbydod@comcast.net

  7. Funny mysteries and food related mysteries are both winners and this one has both elements! Sounds like a winner to me.
    ncroessner @ comcast.net

  8. Sandyg265

    I love the cover art
    sgiden at verizon.met

  9. Absolutely love the title! Great play on words. Fresh thinking – a cozy featuring a chili cook off! Spicy!

  10. griperang

    I would love to win this book. Thank you for the chance. It looks like a fun book. griperang at embarqmail dot com

  11. Linda R

    Love going o chili cook offs here in Texas! Especially at some of the smaller festivals. Good recipes. And eating!

    Tennisace50(@)yahoo(dot)com

  12. Thanks for hosting me and spreading the word about the Chili Cook-Off mysteries (and thanks for your kind words about League, too!)

  13. I like a little humor mixed in with my cozies too.

    acm05atjuno.com

  14. I enjoyed your review! I’ve been reading this book and I really enjoy it! =)

Leave a Reply

