Book Review – “Billionaire Blend” by Cleo Coyle (Coffeehouse Mystery #13)

billionaireblend

 

  Title:  Billionaire Blend

  Author:  Cleo Coyle

  Publisher:  Berkley Publishing Group

  Series:  Coffeehouse Mysteries #13

  Synopsis (from bn.com):  Landmark coffeehouse manager Clare Cosi has served her share of New York’s rich and famous, but even she is surprised by her explosive introduction to a mysterious Internet billionaire…

When a car bomb nearly kills tech whiz Eric Thorner, Clare comes to his aid and receives a priceless thank you. Not only does the billionaire buy her a barista’s dream espresso machine, he hires her for an extraordinary project: creating the world’s most expensive coffee blend.

The police quickly arrest Eric’s alleged attacker, yet death continues to surround the unlucky mogul, leading Clare to question whether a fatal fall and another lethal mishap are premeditated murders or merely freak accidents. Clare’s boyfriend, NYPD detective Mike Quinn, has a theory of his own—one Clare refuses to believe.

Meanwhile, Eric jets Clare around the world on a head-spinning search for the very best coffee, and Clare gets to know his world—a mesmerizing circle of money with rivalries that could easily have turned deadly. But is this charming young CEO truly marked for termination? Or is he the one making a killing?

 

My thoughts:  Anyone who has ever read my blog before knows that I absolutely love the Coffeehouse Mystery series by Cleo Coyle!  Perhaps it is because I myself am a full-fledged coffeeholic or perhaps it is because I simply can’t get enough of the Village Blend and its cast of characters.

Although I have fully enjoyed every book in this series, I must say that “Billionaire Blend” has to be one of my favorites to date!  It literally was the type of book I couldn’t put down . . . which frankly isn’t always the case in the cozy genre.  

Billionaire Blend has a real energy and excitement that is often missing in the cozy genre.  I think this may have stemmed from the very modern topic of development of computer applications and billionaire lifestyles. 

And I thought I knew about coffee . . . but wow, this book will teach you a great deal of coffee, from different coffee drinks, to coffee growing around the world.  This author know her stuff! 

I love what the author is doing with character development of some of our every favorite cozy characters and I am excited to see where she goes with this in her next book.  What is happening between Claire and Mike Quinn?  What is the future like for Joy and Franco?  I can’t wait to find out.

Now if only there was a true Village Blend in every community . . . I so want to go there!!!

In short, it was a great book!  Head to the store or your local library, sit down with your favorite cup of coffee, and have a wonderful journey!

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

1 Comment

Filed under Cleo Coyle, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction, Mystery, New Releases

One response to “Book Review – “Billionaire Blend” by Cleo Coyle (Coffeehouse Mystery #13)

  1. I really enjoy this series! This sounds like a great addition! =)

Leave a Reply

