Blog Tour and Book Review: “Death of an Irish Diva” by Mollie Cox Bryan (Cumberland Creek #3)

irish-diva-640

Death-of-an-Irish-Diva-182x300  Title:  Death of an Irish Diva

Author:  Mollie Cox Bryan

Series:  Cumberland Creek Mystery #3

Synopsis (from Amazon.com): Vera’s dance studio may have suffered when Emily waltzed into town, but the croppers know she’s not a vengeful murderer. Lucky for her, co-scrapbooker Annie is a freelance reporter eager to vindicate her friend. What she discovers is a puzzling labyrinth of secrets that only add question marks to Emily’s murder. Just when it seems they’ve run out of clues, an antique scrapbook turns up and points the croppers in the right direction – and brings them face to face with a killer more twisted than a Celtic knot…

My thoughts:  Death of an Irish Diva is the third book in the wonderful Cumberland Creek Mystery series!  I must say I was at a bit of a disadvantage given that this was the first book that I read in the series, so it took me a little while to get familiar with the characters!   A small confession. . . I do  have the first two books to this series, namely Scrapbook of Secrets and Scrapped, on my shelf I believe and just haven’t gotten around to reading them . . . (hangs head in shame 🙂  That being said, this one intrigued me a great deal, got me really interested in the characters, and really peaked my interest about the plots of the previous two books, so there is no doubt that I definitely will be catching up.

I loved the characters in this cozy series.  They are bright, intelligent, real, strong, empowered women, with a side of fun and quirky!  I love that in my cozies . . . and we all know I do LOVE my cozies.

Part of me wishes that there would be more a scrapbooking focus to this particular book.  I know there has to be a balance between the plot and the location/theme of the cozy . . .but I for one wanted more time with the ladies doing their scrapbooking!  Loved that part.

This is a great, fast read for lovers of the cozy mystery genre!   Great characters, a fast moving mystery plot . . . all the components of a great cozy!

Now, if you will excuse me I have to go catch up on Scrapbook of Secrets and Scrapped!!! 🙂

Giveaway

The author has graciously agreed to giveaway one print copy of the book to certain blogs on the tour.  To enter the giveaway please leave a comment on this post including your email address. (Of course following the blog and liking it on Facebook and Twitter is always greatly appreciated, but not mandatory)! I will randomly choose a winner (using random.org) and then contact you via email to get your mailing address – US addresses only please.  I will choose the winner Monday, February 17, 2014.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

tourhost

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction, Giveaways

3 responses to “Blog Tour and Book Review: “Death of an Irish Diva” by Mollie Cox Bryan (Cumberland Creek #3)

  1. Llk10retired

    I enjoyed the first two books in the series and am looking forward to catching up with the characters.

    lynettek51(at) yahoo (dot) com

  2. I’m Irish but also a big fan of yours. I just can’t get enough of these books.. thank you for writing them. Twitter- & Facebook- SWEETHOME4 EMAIL- RSTEPHEN8103@SBCGLOBAL.NET

  3. I love Irish Dance. I had ballet lessons when very young. Only remember trying to touch the back of my head with my feet. It wasn’t meant to be.
    libbydodd@comcast.net

Leave a Reply

