Blog Tour and Book Review: “A Crafty Christmas” by Mollie Cox Bryan (Cumberland Creek Mystery #4)

a_crafty_christmas_large_banner_640

A_CRAFTY_CHRISTMAS

 

Title:  A Crafty Christmas

Author:  Mollie Cox Bryan

Series:  Cumberland Creek Mystery #4

Synopsis (from amazon.com):  Christmas is just around the corner, and the ladies of the Cumberland Creek Scrapbook Crop are thrilled when Sheila wins the first place prize in a scrapbooking design contest: a ten-day scrapbook-themed cruise in the Caribbean. Vera and Paige decide to tag along, which should pose the perfect opportunity to learn some new techniques, mingle with fellow croppers, and get in some rest and relaxation before the chaos of Christmas. But when Sheila finds a famous crafter dead, and investigators determine she was poisoned, the luxury cruise veers toward disaster as Sheila becomes the number one suspect – or was she really the intended victim? Just as the croppers begin un-wrapping the truth, a storm strands them at sea, and they’ll find it’s harder than ever to survive the holidays with a killer on deck…

 

My thoughts:  My second visit to the wonderful ladies of Cumberland Creek, and I’m glad I got the chance to go back.  I was lucky enough to get the chance to be on the blog tour and provide a review for #3 in this series, “Death of an Irish Diva” so jumped on the chance to be a part of this tour as well.  Thank you and yay!

I will be honest, this book started out a bit slow for me . . . but I believe part of it was because it had been a while since I had been into this series and needed to take some time to reacquaint myself with each of the characters.  It took me a few chapters to get into the whole realization that some of the characters were on the scrapping cruise, while others (Annie, Bea) were back home just doing their things (this really should have been an easy concept, maybe I am just tired lately 🙂

After I was reacquainted and fully back in Cumberland Creek, I truly enjoyed this book.  The characters continue to be their wonderful, unique, quirky selves.  The location of a scrapbooking cruise was great I thought – I mean who wouldn’t dream of this experience.  As someone who has never been on such an experience, I personally and selfishly wish the author would have spend a bit more time describing the specifics of the cruise, the crops, and let’s face it all the scrapbooking stuff that we love to read these cozies for!   I know the point of the book is to tell the story not outline a scrapbooking cruise . . . but I want to live vicariously through  my books 🙂

For a cozy mystery, I appreciate how the author really did a good job of having the characters experience seemingly realistic feelings and emotions to some pretty scary, traumatic events they encountered rather than simply blowing it off and being cheesy about it.

The last paragraph of the book provides a great, intriguing twist which of course will keep me on the lookout for book #5!  I’m ready, bring it on!!!

Overall, a great book in a great cozy mystery series.  If you are a scrapbooker or a cardmaker (like myself) you will not be disappointed.

Thanks for including me on this blog tour.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

great_escape_button_tour_host_button

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

5 responses to “Blog Tour and Book Review: “A Crafty Christmas” by Mollie Cox Bryan (Cumberland Creek Mystery #4)

  1. Gram

    I think I must look for the first in this series.

  2. thanks so much for being a blog stop on my tour and for the thoughtful review. Cheers!

  3. Thank you so much for such an honest review. As a fellow book blogger I know how hard it is to tell things you don’t like about a story. So thanks for that. It lets me know that I too can say in a review what I think without worrying if the tour will still post it.

  4. Pingback: A Crafty Christmas by Mollie Cox Bryan ~ Cozy Mystery Review and Giveaway | fuonlyknew

Leave a Reply

