Book Review: “Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

girl on the train

Title:  The Girl on the Train

Author:  Paula Hawkins

Synopsis (from bn.com):

A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

 

My thoughts:  Well, well . . . the buzz was going around about this book and it happened to be on sale ebook at Amazon so I decided to give it a shot!  I loaded it on my Kindle, set off for the gym (one of my favorite places to read as it numbs the pain of working out), and embraced on this book!

Ok, I really really wanted to like this book, but I simply did not!  In all honesty I really don’t see how so many people just fell head over heels in love with this book.

I very rarely find a book that I can’t find even one character that I enjoy or even care an iota about – but I found it here.  I know it was a deep, dark psychological thriller, but all of these characters were just plain terrible, I hated every single one of them and as the story continues the reader realizes that each character is more messed up and evil than the one before.

I won’t lie, this book is very fast-paced, grabs the readers attention, and takes the reader on a great ride, but it was just a bit too over the top for me.

I think this book tried to hard to be “Gone Girl” and it just simply wasn’t.

How come I never find the books that are all a buzz as good as everyone else does?  I promise I try 🙂

Girl on the Train was a definite miss for me.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Fiction, Mystery, New Releases

2 responses to “Book Review: “Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

Leave a Reply

