Book Review: “Geared for the Grave” by Duffy Brown (Cycle Path Mystery #1)

gearedforthegrave

 

Title:  Geared for the Grave

Author:  Duffy Brown

Series:  Cycle Path Mystery #1

 

Synopsis (from bn,com):

FIRST IN A NEW SERIES!

Mackinac Island is a peaceful summer resort town where everyone coasts through the streets on bicycles. But after someone sends a prominent local on her final ride, it’s up to one resourceful visitor to get things running again…

Hoping to shift her chances of a promotion in her favor, Evie Bloomfield heads to Mackinac Island to assist her boss’s father. Rudy Randolph has broken his leg and operating his bike shop, Rudy’s Rides, is too much to handle by himself. But Evie’s good turn only leads to more trouble…

After Evie’s arrival, wealthy resident Bunny Harrington dies in what looks like a freak bike accident. Upon closer inspection, Bunny’s brakes were tampered with, and now the prime suspect in her murder is also Bunny’s number one enemy: Rudy. So if Evie hopes to stay on her boss’s good side, she’ll need to steer Rudy clear of jail. Now she must quickly solve this mystery so she can put the brakes on the real killer’s plan…

 

My thoughts:  Ok, ok, I have recently began to really enjoy spinning classes on my new spinning bike I got a couple months ago so when I saw this new Cycling Path mystery I snagged it up.  And boy am I glad I did!  What an absolutely hilarious and charming new cozy (ok, actually not new, it came out in 2014 but it is new to me)!

Once I got into the whole realm of reading about small town life, I was hooked.  I actually sat down and read this in one day.

The main character Evie is an absolute stitch, unlike many cozy mysteries – there were many laugh out loud moments – love it!!

The relationship between Evie and the cop Sutter was also hilarious – and of course I’m wondering when sparks are going to fly 🙂

All of the cast of characters in this series are great, charming, colorful, and just simply lovely.

And I know this seems odd, but I also really enjoyed learning about the layout and lifestyle of Mackinac Island – super fun.

I already have started the 2nd book in the series “Braking for Bodies” and am so hoping that the author continues this funny, charming series.

And remember,

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Fiction, Mystery

One response to “Book Review: “Geared for the Grave” by Duffy Brown (Cycle Path Mystery #1)

  1. duffybrown

    So glad you enjoyed Geared for the Grave!! I love Mackinac Island and so glad you do too. I tried to keep it real. If you get a chance to visit you won’t be disappointed. Hugs, Duffy.

Leave a Reply

