Book Review: “Beach Bags and Burglaries” by Dorothy Howell (Haley Randolph Mystery #7)

 

beachbagsandburglaryTitle:  Beach Bags and Burglaries

Author:  Dorothy Howell

Series:  Haley Randolph Mystery #7

Synopsis (from bn.com):  Part-time sleuth and full-time fashionista Haley Randolph just won an all-expenses-paid vacay at the Rowan Resort. The island has everything Haley imagined: pristine beaches, posh accommodations, and possibly Brad Pitt. But trouble soon looms on the horizon when Jaslyn Gordon, a maid at the island resort, goes missing. And while practically looting the resort for a Sea Vixen beach bag, Haley of course finds the maid—on the beach. . .and clearly dead.

Everyone at the resort says Jaslyn’s death was just an accident, but Haley thinks there’s a lot going unsaid. Haley’s faced down clever criminals before and always come out on top, but this malicious murderer might be too crafty. And though she’s dying to get her hands on a Sea Vixen, she also wants to live long enough to be seen with it. . .

My thougths:  Ok, I’ve mentioned before that this isn’t my favorite cozy mystery series and I hate, hate giving badish reviews to books . . . but I have to admit openly that parts of this book just bugged me.  It’s not the writing, nor the story, nor the supporting characters . . . it is the main character herself, Haley Randolph that is just over the top to me, particularly in this book.  Wow – there were times I simply wanted to smack her across the face.  I know she is to be characterized as a young, 25 year old fashionista that is finding her way in life, but this book really brought out the selfish person this girl is.  And this time it really got to me.  I just got sick of the selfish statements from this character like god it’s good to be me, I’m great, etc etc.  Gag!

On a positive note however I enjoyed the setting of this book. The main characters were on a vacation at a luxury resort which overall was a fun location for a book.

I don’t like giving up on series . . . and I haven’t fully committed to letting this one go, but let’s just say I’m not rushing out to get the new releast.

Onward and upward,

And remember,

Books are Life

Heather

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

