Book Review – “Death by Darjeeling” by Laura Childs (Tea Shop Mystery #1)

death by darjeeling  Title:  Death by Darjeeling

Author:  Laura Childs

Series:  The Tea Shop Mystery #1

Publisher:  Penguin Books

 

Synopsis (from book cover):  Meet Theodosia Browning, owner of Charleston’s beloved Indigo Tea Shop.  Patrons love her blend of delicious tea tastings and Southern hospitality.  And Theo enjoys the full-bodied flovor of a town steeped in history and mystery . . .

It’s tea for two hundred or so at the annual historic homes garden party.  And Theodosia, as event caterer, is bussy serving steaming teas and blackberry scones while guests sing her praises.  but the sweet smell of success turnes to sspense when an esteemed gues is found dead – his hand clutching an empty teacup.  All eyes are on Theo . . . who is now trying desperately to save her repuation and track down the real killer.  If only she can make sense of it all – before someone else takes their last sip …

My thoughts:  In Death by Darjeeling, the first installment of Laura Child’s bestselling Tea Mystery Series, we meet Theoedosia Browning, owner of the quaint Indigo Tea Shop.   This is an older cozy mystery series, that I have finally gotten around to working my way through – and I am certainly glad that I did.

I really enjoyed this book.  The characters were wonderful, the setting very inviting, and I want to read more, which is always good!  I, myself, am not a huge tea drinker, but this series has really piqued my interest in the whole world of tea.  Even though it is a simply, fun mystery, it really educated me quite a bit about the tea world  – where it is grown, how to properly steep the tea, different kinds of tea.  It has made me want to find a great Tea Tasting in my community.

Overall, a fun read in a great series!  I have already started book #2 “Gunpowder Green”.

And remember

Books Are Life,

Heather

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Cozy, Cozy Mystery, Laura Childs, Mystery

Leave a Reply

